When a Card Says it All

It seems that I have strayed from making greeting cards in the past few months, so I was glad to be motivated by needing to send a birthday card  and a graduation card.  I set myself a little challenge: to make four different cards using a single sheet of 90 pound watercolour paper.

First, I  folded the paper into quarters. After moistening the folds, I tore the paper into four pieces.  Because I really liked the look of the torn edges I tore a narrow strip off each of the remaining edges.

June cards-1

I am working on a rather stained Ranger craft sheet which I love.

 

Next,  I randomly applied texture paste through a stencil to each of the four “card fronts”. Having to wait half an hour for the paste to dry I took my GSP for a walk. (She had been pacing impatiently, nails clicking annoyingly on the floor.)

June cards-2

Back from our walk,  the texture paste  completely dry,  I  sprayed some yellow shimmer (from DecoArt Media) followed quickly with a spritz of water to  thin out  and spread the ink.

June cards-3

When the ink had dried, I mixed a drop of DecoArt media “blue green” paint into a dab of their tinting base to make a  pale green colour. This green paint  was lightly pounced through a Harlequin stencil.

June cards-4

As the paint was drying I rummaged through my scrap box and chose four different focal images.  (from the Graphics Fairy)

I edged the cards using Distress “Frayed Burlap” ink, and stamped randomly to add a bit more texture.

The focal images and smaller items from the Tim Holtz Ideology packet of snippets were glued in place.  I stamped the “greetings” onto scraps of card stock.

The internal messages were printed on the card bases with our laser printer. (Although I save the different card sizes as  templates on my computer, it always seems to take two or three attempts to get the placement right. Ugh!)

At this point the card fronts were glued onto the card bases and embellishments added.

June cards-9

For DS, whose birthday is in the summer.

The graduation card:

June cards-12

For DGS, who graduated from high school. Love the old photo.

And these two cards? Well, I just think they are so grungy shabby vintage-y chic.

 

3 thoughts on “When a Card Says it All

  1. Liked how you described the process steps through to final creation. Interesting and far more complicated than I imagined.

Leave a Reply

