On the Table

Christmas morning, after the stockings were opened, the kitchen table was set for breakfast with Pfaltzgraff “Winterberry” patterned dinnerware.  I began my obsessive, too- extensive collection of this pattern in the late 1980’s. My late mother-in-law, who appreciated the table setting more that the food served, fuelled this obsession with annual Christmas cash.

At the beginning, Pfaltzgraff was manufactured in America and most of my collection comes from there. In later years it has been made offshore, and I have noticed the quality isn’t quite the same, some of the colours are off. Likely this is the reason I didn’t experience withdrawal symptoms when I didn’t add to my collection this year. christmas-breakfast-1

The Christmas breakfast menu was all prepared ahead of time making it easy to share with our neighbours:

Fruit cocktail (Hubby’s recipe)

Turkey Sausage and Egg Casserolechristmas-breakfast-2

Irish Whiskey Cured Salmon

Mincemeat Muffins

Apple pie

Coffee

 

 

One thought on “On the Table

  1. I’ve loved these glimpses of your beautiful home and creative life at this special time of year, arriving like little gifts to my email address! I have shared details with several friends.
    I feel particularly privledged as I’ve had samples of many of your favourite treats – like the fruit cake, mincemeat and ginger cookies! The walnut strawberries are charming but will have to wait for next year.
    Am so looking forward to your future posts!

Leave a Reply

